Tiller's Guide to Indian Country - Second Edition

The growing economic stability among tribal nations is also allowing tribes to provide assistance to one another. The Mohegan Tribal Nation in Connecticut has achieved such financial success through its enterprises that in 1997, it returned $2.2 million to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. It has since returned its allotted federal funds so that they may be redistributed to tribes with greater economic need. The Mdewankton Sioux Tribe of Minnesota has donated more than $100 million to less fortunate tribes throughout the country. A number of tribal nations have formed economic partnerships, political alliances, and commissions such as the Northwoods Niiji Enterprise Community, Inc. (NNEC), Four Fires LLC, and the Eight Northern Indian Pueblos Council. These organizations promote economic growth; ensure representation at the city, state, and federal level; and support cultural retention and preservation. The twin explosions of economic activity and information on the superhighway in Indian country have forced difficult editorial decisions in this edition. In the Lower 48, we left the information highway and hit the real highway from coast to coast and border to border. The sheer size of Alaska and the absence of real highways to many villages prohibited that approach. We did establish contacts in as many villages as possible, as well as with Alaska Native organizations and corporations. The scope and magnitude of economic activity among Alaska Natives convinced us to deal separately in this edition with the Alaska Native Corporations, with new categories and subsections in an attempt to capture the amazing entrepreneurial spirit that has emerged among them. It is difficult to convey the apparent dichotomy presented by an Inupiat Village President directing the terms of a multi-million dollar acquisition from his position in a walrus-hide whaling boat in the Arctic Ocean. I call it an apparent dichotomy because it is unfathomable to most of us. He simply calls it a day in his life, tending to both his corporate and his traditional responsibilities. We have been honored by the courtesy, professionalism, hospitality, and friendship extended to us by the many people we have encountered, and we thank them for their kindnesses. We appreciate the recognition of our efforts to provide our readers with comprehensive, accurate, and appropriate information about America's tribal nations. It is our hope that we our readers, both our past and new readers, will have a better understanding of Indian Country with this new edition of Tiller's Guide. EDITOR’S FOREWORD X Tribal Personnel and Individuals: (Listed by state and reservation name) [continued] (Thlopthlocco Creek), Chief Bearskin, Ellis Enyart (Wyandotte), Kenneth Blanchard, Jean Kovacs, Anna Dereberry Livingston (Absentee Shawnee), Aaron Brummett (Eastern Shawnee), Michael Burgess, Vicki Canfield, Laura Harris, Joene Schonch (Comanche), Carter Camp (Ponca), Vickie Canfield (Citizen Potawatomi Nation), Juana Chaddlesone (WichitaAgency), Michael Darrow, Steve Buckner, Timothy Harjo (Fort Sill), Rhonda Dixon (Ottawa), Betty Durkee, Thomas Fredericks, Guy Munroe (Kaw), Bill Fife (Alabama-Quassarte) Robyn Elliott, Brad Fortner (Chickasaw), John Froman (Peoria), Michelle Garcia, Diane Jobe (Iowa), Michael Gawhega (Otoe-Missouria), Bobby Jay (Apache), Julia Lookout, Carrie Rogers, Anthony Whitehorn (Osage), Carl Martin (Tonkawa), Diane Moppin, Tarpie Yargee (Alabama Quassarte), Julie Moss, Laverna Stapleton (United Keetoowah), Julie Olds (Miami), Martha Perez, Martha Koomsa-Perez, (Kiowa), Jim Rementer (Delaware), Sandy Selner (Seminole), Dennis Sisco (Seneca-Cayuga), Chadwick Smith, Felcia Wing, Melissa Young (Cherokee Nation), Jennifer Smith (Muscogee Creek), Julia Syitakf (Cheyenne-Arapaho), Lindsey Teter (Pawnee), Patricia Trolinger (Modoc) Jeff Whekins (Delaware); OREGONPam Lynn Barlow, Sherri Groh (Siletz), Michael Clements, Ray Rangela, Lavonne Rotz, Sal Sahme (Warm Springs), Teresa Crane, Joan Deroko, Bill Tovey (Umatilla), Howard Crombie, Pat Davis, (Coos Bay), Kenton Dick, (Burns Paiute), Barbara Kirk, Loren Schonchin (Klamath), Keith Hatch (Celilo Village), Mark Healy (Coquille), Kim Rogers (Grand Ronde), Sheri Shaffer (Cow Creek); RHODE ISLANDEric Wilcox (Narragansett); SOUTH CAROLINAGilbert Blue (Catawba); SOUTH DAKOTA Fabian Betone, Denelle High Elk, Edward Raventon, Narcisse Rousseau, Emily Smith (Cheyenne River Sioux), Duane Big Eagle, Frank Lawrence, Quintin Mghee (Crow Creek), Micheal Jandreau (Lower Brule), Vonnie Bush (Pine Ridge), Philmon Two Eagles, Charles Columbe, Robert Moore, Steve Emery (Rosebud), Elliott Halsey (Yankton), Judith H. Petersen, Thomas R. Allen, (Flandreau Santee Sioux); TEXAS Arturo Sinclair; UTAH, Robert Colorow, Maxine Natchee (Uintah and Ouray), Chrissandra Murphy, Paul Tsosie (Goshute), Beverly Slack (Skull Valley), Laura Tom (Paiute); WASHINGTONRyland Bowechop, Bud Denney (Makah), Henry Cagey (Lummi), Teri Johnson-Davis, Jerry Meninick, Kevin Shendo (Yakama), Dennis Crawford (Quileute), Nancy DeCouteau, Gloria Green, Jason Joseph, David Shaw (Sauk-Suiattle), Phil Dorn, Sally Kass, Barrett Schmanska (Port Gamble), John Halliday (Muckleshoot), Jeff Hertz (Nooksack), Cynthia Iyall (Nisqually), Rick Landers (Samish), Lennea Magnus (Chehalis), John Miller (Lower Elwha), Carolee Morris (Cowlitz), Ray Mullen (Snoqualmie), Charlene Nelson (Shoalwater Bay), Charles O'Hara, Allen Rozema (Swinomish), Gary Passmore (Colville), Harry Pateus (Upper Skagit), Victoria Pavel (Skokomish), Francis Cullooyah, Thomas Sawyer, Alice Ignace (Aunt Alice) (Kalispel), Donna Scott (Hoh), Bill Veliz, John Weymer, Judy Wright (Puyallup), Crystal Thompson (Quinault); WISCONSINBrian Kowalkowski, John Chapman, Michael Chapman, Carrie Grignon, Renee Mahkimetas, Jeremy Weso, Allen W. Quinney (Menominee), Emerson Coy, Leanna Coy, Gloria Cobb, Brian Gauthier (Lac du Flambeau), Gus Frank (Forest County Potawatomi), Colene Frye (St. Croix), Larry Garvin, Tracy L. Littlejohn, Paul Rosheim, Stewart J. Miller (Ho-Chunk), Kevin Hasterballer, Luann Wiggins, Sue Erickson, (Bad River), Jill Martin, (Stockbridge-Munsee), Ray DePerry, (Red Cliff), Pam Rebitzke, Toni Phillite, Thomas Vanzile, (Mole Lake), Paul Dianah Ton (Lac Courte Oreilles), John Brueninger, Bobbi Webster (Oneida); WYOMINGRichard Brannan, Mike La Jeunesse (Wind River).